Courts In UK

There are several different courts in the United Kingdom that serve different functions and have jurisdiction over different types of cases. Here is a brief overview of some of the main courts in the UK:

  1. Supreme Court – This is the highest court in the UK and is responsible for hearing appeals from lower courts, as well as making decisions on issues of public importance.
  2. Court of Appeal – This court hears appeals from lower courts and tribunals, and is divided into two divisions: the Civil Division and the Criminal Division.
  3. High Court of Justice – This court has a wide jurisdiction, including hearing civil cases involving claims for large sums of money, disputes over contracts and property, and judicial review of decisions made by public bodies.
  4. Crown Court – This court hears serious criminal cases, including cases that have been transferred from the Magistrates’ Court and appeals from the Magistrates’ Court.
  5. Magistrates’ Court – This is the lower criminal court and deals with less serious criminal cases, such as minor assaults, motoring offenses, and theft.
  6. County Court – This court deals with civil cases, including disputes over debt, housing, and personal injury.
  7. Tribunals – There are various tribunals in the UK that deal with specific types of cases, such as employment tribunals, immigration tribunals, and tax tribunals.

This is a general overview and the specific functions of each court may vary. If you have a specific legal issue, it may be helpful to consult a lawyer to determine which court has jurisdiction over your case.

More From My Blog